8/22/16: Safety and Peace

Transfer calls are in!  Big shocker… Hermana Tyler are both staying!  But excited news for the La Laguna ward is that another companionship of elders will be coming.  They are going to open the area of Puerto de La Cruz.  Which will be great because it’s an hour bus ride and a 12€ trip so we aren’t able to work over there as much as we would have liked, but now they can!

So I feel like this week I testified over and over again of the happiness that is brought when we keep the commandments.  It’s something so simple that we learned back in primary… “Keep the commandments, in this there is safety and peace.”  But it’s so hard for us to put into practice.

One of my favorite verses is found in D&C 82:10 that says “I, the Lord, am bound when ye do what I say; but when ye do not what I say, ye have no promise.”

I shared this with sweet old Felix as he quits smoking.  I shared my testimony of this with a young less active member that is trying to find out or not if this is the path she wants to take for the start of the rest of her adult life.  I shared this to a member with a strong testimony in Christ that is struggling to keep the faith just after she counted the number of food items in her refrigerator on one hand.  I cried with a woman who feels like after a life of believing in this, and now feels like she has come out with nothing because she lacks to look up and see all the blessings.  And I shared this with a new investigator, who is taking a leap of faith to follow the example of his family members.

I laugh to myself quite often, remembering that I’m a 20 year old girl that can hardly speak the language.  But I can’t be more grateful that Heavenly Father does work through means as small as me to bring about His work.  I’m grateful he trusts me.  And even though my experiences are small, my testimony is strong that it’s true.  For example, I’ve seen Felix go hours without smoking after a small prayer of faith.  I’ve seen a young woman use her last change to get to church because she missed her ride but didn’t want to miss all the meetings.  I saw a woman who finds herself with little physical blessings, laugh to the point she cried with her son.

As I close another email, I’m filled with gratitude to have been able to serve these past 15 months and excited for the miracles that will come with the remainder of this time here in the Canaries.

Have an awesome week!

Love,

Hermana Brooke Devereaux


2016-08-17-1537.31
My companion took this picture of a Canadian pizza we had. Who would have ever thought that bananas on pizza would be good?
2016-08-22-1709.12
Bowling for p-day! Whoop whoop!
Leave a Reply

