8/15/16: Quiero dormer

Halo!  Great week here.  With quite a few changes too!  Last week I sent a picture home of 2 precious girls with our missionary name tags on.  Well we found out that little visit with their family was not at all random when he was called as the new Bishop of the ward of La Laguna this past Sunday.  When the stake president announced these changes, I felt very strongly that he was called from God and gave me more excitement to work with him to get this ward going.  Us and the elders met with him that same afternoon to talk about our vision for the ward.  I’m grateful for these calls that come for the Lord, for how he perfectly humbles us to be instruments in his hands.  Plus, his daughters are precious, so there’s that.

Other than that, we have just been running around trying to make the most of our time.  A part of training, we watch a bunch of videos to help us become better missionaries basically.  Ask Hermana Tyler, I’m absolutely obsessed with them!  Honestly, if you see me watching them after the mission, don’t be surprised haha.  But we have taken so many great things out of them to put into practice, especially with diligent planning, and have seen so many blessings.

The other night, after a rough patch of no new investigators, God blessed us once again with a family.  We visited them for the first time the other day and I learned so much while with them, especially from the 12-year-old son.  He held the Book of Mormon in his hands like it was treasure.  He had so many questions and it touched me that he is just a year or so younger than the prophet Joseph smith was when he wondered which church was true and was lead to a grove of trees and in prayer, saw the father and Jesus Christ.  He was just a young and extremely humble boy, made prophet.

I’m grateful for my testimony of the Restoration of the church of Jesus Christ and for our His Atonement.  And I am extremely grateful for the chance to share it every day.  Today I was talking with one of the YSA’s about serving a mission.  She confided in me that sometimes it’s hard to think you can ever be sufficient enough to do His work.  I loved sharing my little testimony to her that the Lord qualifies us, and that when we can just take the little bit of faith that serving a mission will bless our lives tremendously and maybe a couple others, the Lord can bring to pass some incredible things.

Hope everyone has a great week!

Love,

Hermana Brooke Devereaux

And if anyone understands the subject line and is wondering why, that’s what Elder Tulis says to me in the middle of the most fun part of the day.  For some reason, it gave us all a pretty good laugh.  I told him that my mom has always told me, ever since I was little, “you can sleep when you’re dead”.


So as y’all can see, we went to hike the Teide today, haha.  Well we actually didn’t do too much hiking, Hermana Cozzolinos drove us all through the national park, and we went on some little adventures along the way.  We stopped at a point on the way where they show you a 10 minute history of Teide, which was pretty interesting.  We missed the first couple minutes because it was in French, then once they switched it to Spanish I learned that all the Canary Islands are formed from volcanic movement.  There was a volcano that last erupted here about 100 years ago and left a big crater in the ground right next to Teide.
Teide is the biggest volcano out of all the Canary Islands.  [You can look to see how tall it is.]  It was beautiful though and I felt like I was going through a national park back in Utah or something honestly.

2016-08-16-1346.08

2016-08-16-0942.43

2016-08-16-1345.05

2016-08-16-0943.40

2016-08-16-1342.11

2016-08-16-1424.33

2016-08-16-1444.00

2016-08-16-1442.33

2016-08-16-1444.14

2016-08-16-1445.07

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

2016-08-16-1724.56

Leave a Reply

