7/12/16: Gijón es la Leche

I’ll skip right to the chase by saying my last week here in Gijon was absolutely incredible!  Yes, it was the last week of transfers and I get the nerve wracking phone call from President Pack last Saturday telling me I would be unassigned as sister training leader and leaving Gijon.

I’m on the train again, enjoying one last time in the green mountains as I head down to Madrid.  I will stay there until Tuesday afternoon when I go to the stake center for the incoming missionary meeting to meet my greenie!  Woohoo!  It’s about time Hermana Devereaux gets a real training experience 😄.  Then on Wednesday we will hop on about a 3 hour plane ride south to the Canary Islands!  We are white-washing, or in this case pink-washing, the elders out of a little town called La Laguna on the island of Tenerife.  I’m super pumped, and nervous, and sad to be leaving Gijon, but overall just ready to go make the most out of this last chunk of my mission.

We were really happy this week of all the progress we have seen in our friends.  Evelyn really opened up to us about some problems she is dealing with and it was beautiful to be able to testify of the loving nature of the Savior.  Linda (who has been investigating the church on and off for about 10 years) also confessed to us this week that this was the real do, and she was going all in, so that was a miracle.  When I left, I gave her a little framed sign that said, “doubt your doubts before you doubt your faith.”  She loved it, and called me pesada.  Maria and Silvestre both came back from the grave.  They continue with the same issues, but with a new determination to serve the Lord.  It was great to see them again.  I also got to see the other Maria, from Romania.  That was a highlight of the week to see her big smile.  I’m so grateful for each of the people I’ve been able to teach, or in better words, learn from.  My testimony has been strengthened so much of the restored Gospel and of Jesus Christ as I have been able to share my witness of Him here.

2016-07-10-2128.24
This is Maria.

There have been 2 scriptures in my head all week long.

The first comes from Alma chapter 13.  This is when Alma and Amulek are just showing off there bomb missionary skills.  Not really, but I absolutely love what they said here:

27 And now, my brethren, I wish from the inmost part of my heart, yea, with great anxiety even unto pain, that ye would hearken unto my words, and cast off your sins, and not procrastinate the day of your repentance;

28 But that ye would humble yourselves before the Lord, and call on his holy name, and watch and pray continually, that ye may not be tempted above that which ye can bear, and thus be led by the Holy Spirit, becoming humble, meek, submissive, patient, full of love and all long-suffering;

29 Having faith on the Lord; having a hope that ye shall receive eternal life; having the love of God always in your hearts, that ye may be lifted up at the last day and enter into his rest.

I’m pretty sure ‘procrastination’ has always been one of my least favorite words because I have always found myself guilty of it.  I don’t recommend procrastination studying for the bio organic chemistry exam, but like Amulek, I even more strongly don’t recommend procrastinating repentance.  Don’t let one day pass without being able to end it closer in your relationship to God than you were the day before.  I’m grateful for learning how to make the most out of each moment here in Gijon, and for being able to humble myself before the Lord little by little, to become more like Jesus Christ.

The second actually comes from the Living Christ.  Hermana Otto has been working on achieving her personal progress medallion since she was baptized after having the chance to do so.  One of the project ideas is to memorize the Living Christ, and I told her I was happy to do so because I love taking advantage of the awesome missionary mantel.  We have split it up into 4 weeks, but just working on the 1st 2 paragraphs this past week, I have already learned more about my Savior as I have engraved these words on my heart.  There is a line that says, “None other has had so profound an influence upon all who have lived and will yet live upon the earth.”  It’s a very basic line, but each time I recite it I am reminded of the influence Jesus Chris that’s had upon my life.  I’m so grateful for the peace and the hope that the knowledge of His love and His Atonement bring to me.  Back to studying so many conference talks on the Atonement leading up to Easter, from praying over the challenges our investigators have faced asking for a better understanding to the Atonement, I’m grateful to have strengthened my relationship with my Savior during this time in Gijon.

I’m sorry for the incredibly long email this week, I could ramble for hours how much I love this place and the people.  They will always have a very special part of my heart.  I’m excited for these changes coming up, and I hope y’all all have as great and as exciting upcoming week as I do!

Love,

Hermana Brooke Devereaux


2016-07-10-2155.26
One last picture of the cute capilla and it started dumping buckets, typical Asturias 🙂

2016-07-10-2155.13

Leave a Reply

