4/18/16: “Atrévete a lo correcto aunque solo estés”

Hello!

And just like that, we are to the last week of the transfer.  But before we get there I’ll give a little update on this past week..

We have been passing by a lot of the members houses to talk to them about the 4th commandment, “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy” (exodus 20:8).  We related the commandments to traffic signs.  They are there to protect us rather than restrict us!  We also show God what’s important in our lives by what we do on this special day.  We made these little handouts of their own stop lights with the question at the top, “What sign will I show the Lord on the Sabbath?”  And set goals with them on how they can rest, worship the Lord, and serve more on Sunday.  Doing this helped me strengthen my own testimony of the Sabbath and helped me reflect how I want to fill my Sunday’s the rest of my life.

We met with Fernando this week and were going to talk about our favorite moments of general conference but really turned into a discussion about courage.  We shared with him a little bit of President Monson’s talk about courage years ago when he said, “Dare to be a Mormon; dare to stand alone. Dare to have a purpose firm; Dare to make it known.”  We continue studying and praying like crazy for him and that he has the courage to take the next step!

So I think I’ve shared quite a bit about Maria lately.  She has awesome weeks where she is progressing tons and then other weeks where she falls back a little.  I’ve grown to love this woman so much!  And more than anything, her 2 little kids.  They are the craziest little bunch, but there’s nothing I love more than to see little Davis smile!  We had a great family home evening with President Florins family and thought that was the big turning point with Maria.  Then she didn’t come to church Sunday and we went to visit her that night and found out she hadn’t read or prayed either.  We were really upset to see that she wasn’t doing her part.  We read D&C 82:10 “I, the Lord, am bound when ye do what I say; but when ye do not what I say, ye have no promise.”  And we made a calendar for the upcoming week with check boxes every day to read and to pray with a promise at the bottom saying that if she did those things, the Lord will help her be calm- her biggest desire of all!  I know that that promise is true and that the Lord will and wants to bless us in abundance if we just do a little work on our part!

Silvestre is doing super great!  He is getting ready to take a big exam to start up a transportation business, but has been doing awesome between putting time for work and the Lord.  Yesterday we had district conference which means President and Hermana Pack came up to Gijon!  Well right after church, we had the opportunity to have a little surprise lesson with Silvestre and The Packs!  That was one of the most spiritual experiences of my mission as I got to bare testimony alongside of President Pack to Silvestre about the blessings of the Gospel.

Well that’s a wrap of the week.  Learning tons and enjoying every minute.  There isn’t a minute to waste.  Hope everyone has a great week!

Love,

Hermana Devereaux


Here are a few pictures from my week.

2016-04-16-1913.58
What else do you do when you see a street called moron than take a picture looking like one? This is why I love Hermana Rossberg.
2016-04-13-1759.40
You know it’s been a crazy day when you look down and your chapa (nametag) is upside down..
2016-04-18-0644.31
Today we went to Oviedo and hiked to a statue of Jesus! This hike was steep, and I might regret it the rest of the week, but the view was worth it at the top!

2016-04-18-0636.312016-04-18-0636.55

Leave a Reply

