4/4/16: God Speaks!

Sorry about not getting an email out last week.  We had a little schedule change for a zone p-day.  But it was a great week!

Wellll, 58 days before General Conference, President Pack gave us a challenge to read the Book of Mormon with one question or topic in mind.  I took the challenge and simply wanted to learn more about the nature of Him and how I could align my will with His.  The more I read, the more I realized why we call Him our Heavenly Father.  The phrase “God is the same yesterday, today and forever” has more meaning.  And that like a loving Earthly Father wants the best for his children, our Heavenly Father wants the best for us.  I know that God speaks to us today just like we’ve seen in the old times.  Maybe not physically to each of us, but if we really search and listen, we hear his words loud and clear. God speaks!

So this week we basically just ran around telling anyone and everyone that God loves us and speaks to us today.  God speaks!  I love that so much.  I pray to Him and He listens and responds back to me personally.  I know it.  He has also given us prophets and leaders that receive revelation and they transmit it to us, just like in the bible times.

I’m so grateful for our prophet today, Thomas S. Monson.  I’m grateful for the Apostles and all the leaders.  I loved general conference so much; hearing their words.  General conference is especially awesome on the mission, getting to watch it with some our friends for the first time.  We were a little bummed when Silvestre said he had to work all day, but then 15 minutes in to the last session, the door opened and he walks in and says he couldn’t miss it!  So much happiness.  Also for the hundredth time, I have fallen in love with these little branches on the north coast of Spain.  Only here would every single member be at the church building, in Sunday clothes, to watch all four sessions!  And in between sessions we had a big pot luck lunch which was fun too.

2016-04-02-0925.10

2016-04-02-0924.27
Before the first session of General Conference, we had a late Easter activity at the church! It was these kids first ever Easter egg hunt! Sorry for the sad faces (it was really sunny).
2016-04-02-0914.50
Oh, and Emilio was our big kid that joined in on the festivities!

Well I hope y’all have a very happy week!  Thanks for all the birthday wishes!

Love,

Hermana Devereaux


 

Here are some pictures from my week 🙂

2016-04-01-0350.01
The whole zone at laser tag. It was definitely fun chasing President around with a laser gun!

2016-04-01-1612.432016-04-01-1617.04

2016-04-02-0136.26
Zone Conference!
2016-04-04-1241.24
This is my “mom”!

 

2016-03-31-1846.24
I love my families artwork for my birthday!
Leave a Reply

