3/21/16: At-one-ment

Happy Easter!

We had some awesome first lessons!  We really made some good progress with Fernando and Maria and the other people we’ve been meeting with lately.  This Thursday my companion had to go down to Madrid to renew her residency so I got to go stay with the Hermanas from Oviedo and see our neighbor town.  It was fun to work with them and see another city but by the time me and Hermana Rossberg got back that night I was sure happy to be back in our area and get back to work!

This past Saturday we had an activity to celebrate the anniversary of the Relief Society.  Then right after, my favorite little 8-year-old boy in the branch, Miguel, was baptized.  So many of his friends and members and members from other branches in the north, I couldn’t even see the font when he was baptized!  I’ve never seen so much support at one baptism.  Another reason I love this place and these people.

2016-03-19-1820.27
Relief society “cumpleaños” activity

Today, to prepare for Easter, we are dying hard boiled eggs and launching them in a park, keeping the traditions alive!

2016-03-21-1710.09
Our sorry eggs..

But more importantly, haha, my companion and I have set a goal to read (at least) 1 General Conference talk about the Atonement every day as we lead up to Easter.  I’ve thought a lot about us being “created in the image of God” like it says in Genesis in the Old Testament.  Usually, I think immediately to our physical bodies.  We have bodies made of bones and especially thinking back to my anatomy class freshman year, that are designed to function perfectly- just like Gods.  What I never thought about before, is being created in His image spiritually.  This is something more than just being born and receiving our bodies from God.  It is something we have to work at every single day.  I thought back to the scripture in Alma 5: 14 when he proposes the question, “Have ye received his image in your countenances?”  It made me really think about if am I doing the best I can to become like Him.  Does everything I’m doing, even the little things, represent Jesus Christ and are they aligned with the example He set.  I also know that in the life, there is absolutely no way we can earn that kind of perfection.  And our Heavenly Father doesn’t expect that, just expects that we try.  We can use the Atonement to help us become more like Him, but like Nephi said it is “still by grace we are saved”.  His Atonement wasn’t a sacrifice He made for me, but rather an investment He made in me.

Alright that’s enough of my spiritual tangent, but I really just can’t get over how amazing the Atonement is.  Simple enough for a child to understand, and complex enough for a 90-year-old man to still be able to learn more after a life of studying and applying it.

I think the hymn “I stand all amazed” sums my feelings up much better than I could do so on my own.  “I stand all amazed at the love Jesus offers me, Confused at the grace that so fully he proffers me.  I tremble to know that for me he was crucified, That for me, a sinner, he suffered, he bled and died.  Oh, it is wonderful that he should care for me, Enough to die for me!  Oh, it is wonderful, wonderful to me!”

I hope everyone has a great week and remembers the real reason for this holiday weekend!

Love,

Hermana Brooke Devereaux

 

Leave a Reply

