2/22/16: I can hear the bells💍💍💍

Wow, crazy crazy amazing week!

My quick recap:

Monday we woke up early to catch our train to Madrid for the leadership conference with all the zone leaders and sister training leaders.  It snowed a bunch in the mountains that day, so the train ride was beautiful along the way!

Then Tuesday we had the meeting.  We focused on how to use our time more wisely.  I loved loved loved every part of this meeting.  It was exactly what I needed.  At the end the Packs shared with us some final comments.  He said President Moreira told him that the conditions were right in the mission for the work to take off.  And with Spain, the rest of Europe will follow.  With hearing those words, I was given so much animo to push myself even harder in the work.  Then Hermana Pack showed this picture of Peter from the bible story when he sees Christ walking on water.

In Mathew 14, it reads:

25 And in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went unto them, walking on the sea.

26 And when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a spirit; and they cried out for fear.

27 But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.

28 And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water.

29 And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus.

30 But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me.

31 And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?

32 And when they were come into the ship, the wind ceased.

Can you think how much faith it took for Peter to jump out of the boat?  This Friday I will have completed 9 months of my mission, half way!  At this point it would be easy to keep doing the same things, getting the same or maybe even less results.  But I know I can and need to get out of the boat, get out of my comfort zone just like Peter.  I know from Peter’s example, it won’t be easy.  In fact, I might even see a storm and be fearful and start to doubt.  I might even start to sink.  But I love looking at Peter’s eyes in this picture.  Completely fixed right on the Savior.  I know He will always be there to catch me.  I left concilio completely edified and so ready to apply all those awesome things in my area!  So that night we headed back to Leon.

Peter and Christ

And Wednesday morning we had the zone training to relate all the things we learned in concilio to the missionaries in our zone.  That afternoon, we caught another bus and finally headed back to Gijon!  As we planned for our companionship exchanges the next day, we sadly found out we had no blow up pump for our air mattress.  Since there would be 4 of us in our apartment the next night, Hermana Rossberg and I decided whoever had the “roughest” afternoon got the couch instead of the hard floor.  (Keep in mind there’s no carpet in Spain, just tile haha.)

2016-02-17-1419.58

2016-02-17-1420.13
Zone Conference!

Thursday came, and the Leon hermanas showed up.  I got to spend all afternoon working with Hermana Melton, she is the coolest.  We had an awesome afternoon planned, and like many days in the mission field-those plans kept sliding through.  Not to mention I got us pretty lost trying to navigate us through this gigantic city I hardly know.  But I was so grateful for the excitement of Hermana Melton and we kept working and were able to accomplish some awesome things that day.  However I still ended up having the “rougher day” and got to sleep on the couch instead of the floor. 😊

Friday we spent another morning with the Leon hermanas and then they headed back.

2016-02-19-1312.50
Intercambios (exchanges) with the hermanas from Leon, they’re the cutest!

Saturday was our actual only normal day this week.  That afternoon we had a big ward party to celebrate Valentine’s Day a week late.  It turned out super well, and lots of members brought friends!  The best was showing up to help decorate, and seeing the same hearts that Hermana Rossberg and I had stuck on members doors to “heart attack” them the week before, where already hanging there on the wall to decorate.  Gotta love recycling haha!

I am so grateful to have the opportunity to be here serving a mission.  The excitement of looking down at my name tag still hasn’t worn off after 9 months.  I love serving my Heavenly Father and being a part of this work!  I know that God loves each of us, He knows us each perfectly.  I’m so grateful for my family at home supporting me.  I’m so so happy for Jordan and Jeff and their marriage this Saturday.  Everyone have a wonderful week and tell the newlyweds congratulations for me!

Love,

Hermana Devereaux


 

Here are a few more pictures from this week!

2016-02-20-2133.49
It was Hermana Rossbergs “cumple-mes” so I got her a crown and ice cream!

2016-02-22-1218.362016-02-22-1332.20

2016-02-22-1215.19
Today our ward mission leader, Santi, was so excited to take us to the university he used to attend and then out to lunch. It’s not BYU, but it was pretty cool. 😄

2016-02-22-1213.462016-02-22-1541.28

Leave a Reply

