1/18/16: Baby Ismael

Hello again!  Seems like I just wrote home yesterday.  I hope everyone had a great week.

Well I wanted to share a pretty special experience with y’all.  So this past Friday we got a call from an investigator named Basilia.  We were going to have a lesson with her but it turned out she was rushing to the hospital to visit a friend.  That morning her friend’s son, just one years old, stopped breathing.  By the time they made it to the hospital, he had passed away.  We offered to attend the funeral with her the next day, trying to bring some comfort into the horrible situation.  So Saturday morning we show up.  I looked at his sweet mother, tears streaming down her face.  I looked at all the friends around her that came to show support, all in horror.  But then I look at the sweet baby boy, laying in his casket, with the little smile on his face, he seemed as if he were asleep in his own crib at home.  The man at the funeral home let the family give him one last kiss before they took his body away.  In that moment, as this young mother kissed her baby boy one last time, I was reminded of the sweet plan Heavenly Father has for his children.  I knew sweet little Ismael was there with us, whispering to his mom, “It’s okay, I’m with our Heavenly Father now.  I’m out of all my pain, and we will be united again one day.  And we will live together forever.”

That morning I learned a little more what it means to “mourn with those that mourn and comfort those that stand in need of comfort”.  But I am also learning that the Gospel of Jesus Christ is the real comforter.  What greater news can be brought to a mother that just lost her son than that they will be reunited again after this life?  Or to anyone that their families will be together forever, or that God has a perfect plan for all of us!

2016-01-17-1638.44
He’s the captain!

I love being a missionary!  Sorry I probably say that every week.  It’s hard and yet the most rewarding thing ever.  There are days your schedule is so full you have to run to every appointment and there’s other days that at first, you look at your schedule and you might think, “what are we going to do?”  But like Brad (my brother-in-law) just reminded me, it’s those days that really define what kind of missionary I am.  And with the guidance of the Spirit and a good attitude, we are always led exactly to where we need to be.

Love you all! Happy late b-day Brad!
Hermana Devereaux


 

2016-01-17-2242.56
It was Hermana Butlers 1st “cumple mes” or in other words.. She’s been serving for one month!

 

2016-01-17-1342.36
My cute little kids at church . They really are like my kids. Haha

2016-01-17-1343.35

2016-01-16-1350.412016-01-16-1346.472016-01-16-1401.27

2016-01-16-1406.12
We read from the Book of Mormon about the “weapons of war” and wrote down what can be our modern day weapons and buried them in the earth just like the anti-Nephi-Lehites this past week haha!

2016-01-16-1407.04

 

 

Leave a Reply

