12/28/15: Fisher’s of Men

Well I just wrote home on Friday, but there is always more to say.  First off, I hope everyone had a great Christmas!  Christmas in the mission field was definitely one to remember, and I couldn’t be more grateful for my Savior during this time.

I read in Luke chapter 5 this weekend when Jesus went and called Peter as an Apostle, but before that, there is a story that really touched me:
4 Now when he had left speaking, he said unto Simon, launch out into the deep, and let down your nets for a draught.
5 And Simon answering said unto him, Master, we have toiled all the night, and have taken nothing: nevertheless at thy word I will let down the net.
6 And when they had this done, they inclosed a great multitude of fishes: and their net brake.
7 And they beckoned unto their partners, which were in the other ship, that they should come and help them. And they came, and filled both the ships, so that they began to sink.

John said they had been working all night, yet they weren’t gaining anything.  So when Jesus asked him to lower his net, I’m sure he thought, “I’ve already done that a thousand times.  It’s not working.  There’s nothing out there.”  But I love the word ‘nevertheless’.  Because even though Peter might have realized his lack of success before, he trusted in the Lord and did as he said.  And what happened after!?  He caught so many fish that his net broke, his ship began to sink because they weighed so much, as well as their neighbor ship!  The Lord knows best; we just have to trust in Him.

Hermana Romero and I read this article called “the Donaldson papers” and I wish I had read this the first week of my mission!  It has pushed us to improve our studies together, how we teach, everything.  It’s been so fun applying the things we’ve learned.

After a pretty rough Saturday of realizing that the agency of others can be really frustrating haha, we were blessed with an awesome day with our investigator Galo.  I’m so proud of this guy.  He was so sincere when he told us he wants to be a better man and a better dad to his daughters.  And he accepted the invitation to be baptized!

Well I hope everyone has a happy new year!  The tradition here is to stuff 12 grapes in your mouth when the clock strikes 12.  So if anyone wants to join me in that, you’re welcome to (haha).  It’ll be interesting to see who is on the street Friday morning!

Love you all!  Set goals for 2016!  Be better today than you were yesterday… Be better this year than you were the last!  Let your line out one last time and see what the Lord can bless you with!

Love,

Hermana Devereaux

——

Most of my pictures over the last 2 weeks were posted on my Dec. 25th post.  Here’s a few more:

2015-12-28-1352.46
This was Hermana Romero and me in Guadalajara. We were trying to take a selfie, but the wind wasn’t cooperating! 🙂

We had a Christmas party with our ward…

2015-12-19-1921.25
Here I’m with a couple of our investigators at the ward party.
2015-12-19-1921.50
Alvaro (recently baptized) and his friends at the party.
2015-12-19-1929.45
The young women from our ward danced to “all I want for Christmas is you”. It was adorable in their pjs!
2015-12-25-1917.43
The Elders from my district doing “stank” faces. 🙂

Happy New Year!  Talk to you again in 2016.

 

Leave a Reply

