11/23/15: Happy 🐔 Day!

Alright, this is going to be a short one this week.

But guess what, ALVARO IS GETTING BAPTIZED!

The program is made, the interview is done, the white clothes are out, and unlike in La Coruña there is no font to build- just fill it up the day of the baptism… SATURDAY!!!

So I will start with how awesome it was that he was able to come to the big conference we had at the stake center next to the temple this week. His face was priceless when he saw the temple for the first time.

At the Madrid temple with Alvaro
At the Madrid temple with Alvaro

Then Saturday morning was the interview with Elder Bailey our zone leader and the bishop. So a little background information, the bishop was very very hesitant to let him be baptized. His father has been inactive in the church and his mom is not a member. Alvaro is only 13 years old, and he worries that within the next few years it would be very easy for him to fall away. Knowing his hesitations, I was like a worried mom. The past 2 weeks I have visited Alvaro almost every day and gotten to know him. As the bishop asked him questions and the different commandments and the meaning of baptism, I was so impressed with the answers of this 13 year old boy! He knew and understood it all. And most importantly, he had a testimony. When the bishop asked him why he wants to get baptized, he simply said, “So I can get closer to my Heavenly Father and Saviour”. How could the bishop, or anyone, argue with that? And from that moment on, the bishop, and all the members in the ward are on board and so supportive. I am so proud and excited for Alvaro and his decision to be baptized! No matter how old you are, you can follow the example of Jesus Christ and be an example also to all those around you. (Also happy note… His little sister told her dad, “I can’t wait until my baptism”… Looks like we have some more work to do!)

Other than that, we have been visiting some awesome other people and tons of members. One man we’ve been visiting is named Money from Nigeria. We teach him in English, and just real quick, I would like to say how difficult it is to teach the Gospel in English now. It took me 6 tries to say the work “authority” right. Ah! We are helping members make goals to “invite a friend, be spiritually and temporally self-sufficient, and participate in genealogy work”. It has been super fun and rewarding to work the Elders and the members with this goal that all of Europe has right now.

Well, I’m out of time. Everyone have a great week! Remember what you’re grateful for!  Here is an awesome video that I hope you’ll enjoy: In The Spirit of Thanksgiving or Mensaje de acción de gracias.

Be better today than you were yesterday!

Love,

Hermana Devereaux

——-

Here’s some pictures from this week.  We got to go to a zone conference in Pavones, and saw the Madrid temple.  Alvaro and Yasmina were able to see the temple too.

Yasmina and Alvaro at the temple in Madrid.
Yasmina and Alvaro at the temple in Madrid.  Alvaro is getting baptized this Saturday!

I got to meet Hermana Vasas too:

IMG_1495

Hermana Vasas is the cutest!! Sister Jessop (who is now in Russia) told me about her, because she was in the MTC with her before I arrived. We finally got to meet eachother at the big conference and here is the crazy picture we sent to sister Jessop.
Hermana Vasas is the cutest!! Sister Jessop (who is now in Russia)
told me about her, because she was in the MTC with her before I
arrived. We finally got to meet each other at the big conference and
here is the crazy picture we sent to sister Jessop.

I also got to see Hermana Emma Weaver, one of my friends from BYU:

IMG_1497

Too bad it was so dark, but I finally saw Hermana Weaver! She accidentally called me Brooke like 5 times. A little taste of home!
Too bad it was so dark, but I finally saw Hermana Weaver! She
accidentally called me Brooke like 5 times. A little taste of home!

All the missionaries and our pot luck of food. Hermana Romero taught me how to make something from Ecuador yuuuuuumm:

IMG_1514

IMG_1513

 

We went to dinner with Laura and her family:

IMG_1509

Comida con Laura and her family!! The best family!

IMG_1510

 

Hermana Romero and me with the Sister Training Leaders, Hermanas Toone and Hill.
Hermana Romero and me with the Sister Training Leaders, Hermanas Toone and Hill.

Today we went to torrejon to play fútbol and volleyball with our
zone.

IMG_1512

Please notice the Texas shirt!

IMG_1511

And us I front of a dolphin waterfall statue.
And us I front of a dolphin waterfall statue.

Have an awesome week, and be Thankful!

Leave a Reply

