8/31/15: FRENCH TOAST oooo la laaaa

Hola friends!

Another great week in a Coruña! It rained EVERY day. I guess I better get used to it, I didn’t expect to be pulling out boots and jackets in August though!

So this week was my 3rd cumple mes! Yes, us Missionaries celebrate cumple meses. Can you believe it?! I’m already 3 months old in mission time. You know Hermana Braun and I celebrated!

More important though, it was also the mission leader in the branch here’s birthday this week! Somehow associating with all these American missionaries, he was introduced to French toast. Obsessed is an understatement, so Saturday morning we snuck on over to his piso and surprised him with some cinnamon French toast, and maple syrup!

My ward mission leader and his family
My ward mission leader and his family

We couldn’t leave without a spiritual message, so we went all Relief Society on him and tied it to the Gospel. I thought it was pretty clever.. So I will share…

FRENCH TOAST… the recipe to happiness:
Bread… Jesus Christ (obvious.. He is the bread of life!)
Eggs- obedience
Vanilla- reading the scriptures
Milk- praying
Cinnamon- attending church
* mix together with love! Dip the bread, and you are worthy of the syrup! (Aka.. The Holy Spirit)

017f22e543e96a666fa32a02dc254e326062d9efa8_00001

As cheesy as it is, it got me thinking.. Am I doing everything to be worthy of the Spirit? And am I paying attention to the guidance I receive from the Spirit?

First we have to be able to recognize the Spirit! It can be hard at first. We had a family home evening this week with the Bishop’s family and practiced this. We asked them to describe simple things like: the taste of salt, or the smell of fingernail polish, or seeing the color green.. To someone who had no knowledge of them. Even though these are things we are used to, it seems impossible to describe! It’s kind of how we learn to recognize the Spirit. Somethings require gaining experience yourself. So we must practice, in order to gain confidence in the Holy Ghost’s promptings.

Following guidance from the Spirit is probably the most important part of missionary work! That’s because, it is HIS work. Although I’m far from perfect, I have been trying to always listen to the promptings and be worthy of the companionship of the Holy Ghost.

I love this scripture!
D&C 11:12 And now, verily, verily, I say unto thee, put your trust in that Spirit which leadeth to do good–yea, to do justly, to walk humbly, to judge righteously; and this is my Spirit.

This week, Hermana Braun and I were walking down the street and we were about to pass by a woman. She seemed very rushed and my first instinct was not to bother her. But I could feel the Spirit telling me that this woman was looking for the message I had to share! So I followed the prompting.. And wouldn’t you know it, she is the coolest woman ever!!! First, her name is Michelle. She is Spaniard. What Spaniard has this name?!? MY MOM’S NAME! This small thing made me so happy. I told her about this connection and there was an instant bond! Cooler than that was how much she loved hearing about the Gospel. A couple days later we met with her and had our first lesson.

Thanks for everything. Hope everyone has a great week!

Love you all!

Hermana Devereaux

————-

I don’t have many pictures to share this week.  For pday we just went to the mall and came back home and relaxed.  It was a tiring week, with so much rain!  So I shared some more pictures below from last Monday’s Pday, when it was sunny.  (Don’t think that all we do is play.  We don’t normally take many pictures during the week when we are working. 🙂 )

8/25/15: Zone Conference in Vigo, Spain
8/25/15: Zone Conference in Vigo, Spain
Last Pday with Hermana Braun and I
Last Pday with Hermana Braun and I

012f7fd2546552e8aa4ef10669ad4382921b120460

014a87a87ea49efe160d09fe68a1abba76dc0717ea

01014fd76fb5dfc2cd5922353b0edc7c437af1f4f6

019efe34bf7e4c40cb27bc07e1ea20f6681fb803d2

01c2ff2a9c4c8afdc8fc3dc805f7479f9d52e7c577

Being silly... Our prom pose!
Being silly… Our prom pose!  (This picture was actually 2 weeks ago.)

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

