6/18/15: Call Down the Powers of Heaven!

MTC Week #3:

can y’all believe it’s been another week??!! i can’t. time is flying here. and i see miracles every day.
so i will start from last thursday. we went to the Real Madrid stadium! it was incredible. and i saw people from texas so that made me happy. the pride is universal. i need to learn more about fútbol, though. good thing I’ve got 17 more months!

Real Madrid Stadium 6/13/15
Real Madrid Stadium 6/11/15

like every saturday, we went to the park. this week was my companion was sister hitesman, she is one of the new sisters learning russian.

Teaching in the park 6/13/15
Teaching in the park 6/13/15

i really tried to prepare myself for the park that week. because after all, how can we expect miracles if we don’t put any work in ourselves? so i prayed so much for this day. Elder Ballard gave a devotional and said, ´¨call down the power of heaven to help you reach your goals. that’s when miracles happen.¨  i loved this and have tried to apply this each day!! so it started with making goals. i asked sister hitesman to help me with this. our goals were to follow the spirit on where to go/ what to say/ EVERYTHING. and our second goal was for each person we talked to, testify to them of the love our Heavenly Father has for them. because everyone NEEDS to know that. so we are off to the park feeling really ready!

This guy is a professor at Berkeley!
This guy is a professor at Berkeley!

the whole day God was looking out for us, and i know without a shadow of a doubt that Christ was with us. He sustained me. there is no other way i would be able to talk in spanish with these people, these strangers, and yet feel so much love for them.

This is Michael Angelo! I asked him if he was an artist... He is, with food!
This is Michael Angelo! I asked him if he was an artist… He is, with food!

i want to tell y’all about the last woman we talked to, her name was christina. it was almost time to go back to the MTC but we thought we would walk one more place. at the top of this hill there was a women standing there with her dog, basically waiting for us to stop and talk to her. i said hola talked about my ¨perro¨ and just everything about life. she was looking for truth, but didn’t know where to find it. i read with her in Moroni 10: 3-5. The spirit was so strong! the power from those verses is undeniable. And cristina knew that. we had to go, but before i left i gave cristina a big hug. she told me that she had prayed and asked for an experience like this. i was able to get her phone number and the second i get out of the mtc i will be giving her a call! just from 20 minutes with her, i feel like i know her. i know her because god showed me the love he has for and passed it on through me. how incredible is our heavenly father! me and sister hitesman walked away smiling ear to ear. i need to thank my heavenly father. and right there in the park, we pulled over into the trees and prayed to him in gratitude.

This guy told us missionaries smelt.  He wasn't too fond of us.  But that's okay, we kept talking to him anyways!
This guy told us missionaries smelt. He wasn’t too fond of us. But that’s okay, we kept talking to him anyways!
I finally made it to the singing we finishing at the part every Saturday! The last 2 times I was still out talking to people.
I finally made it to the singing, we finish at the park every Saturday! The last 2 times I was still out talking to people.

IMG_0172

my testimony of prayer strengthened so much this week. we truly can call down the powers of heaven. heavenly father is listening! when you pray, remember to leave time for him to answer. because he will answer. and in different ways.
then came sunday! my absolute favorite day of the week! we center our weeks all around pday and sunday here. you’ve got sunday, post sunday, pre pday eve, pday eve, pday, post pday, and pre sunday. that’s a missionary calendar haha. jk, i love all the days! because each day is filled with so much happiness!

If you can't tell enough by my eyes, I was real tired this morning. so tired, that I put on my companion's name tag. haha
If you can’t tell enough by my eyes, I was real tired this morning. so tired, that I put on my companion’s name tag! haha

so back to sunday, i gave a talk in church.. in spanish. whoooo was i nervous, especially because you don’t know you’re speaking until about 10 minutes before. our topic was repentance. i spoke and at the end my mind went to an email mom had sent me the night before. it said, ´¨the atonement is not just for forgiveness when you sin… it is to encompass all of these feelings that we might have in hard times to bring that peace and comfort that we so desire.¨ i had copied it down into my journal and so i was able to grab it and horribly translate it into spanish while at the podium. Jesus Christ knows ALL of our feelings. the good and the bad! rely on him. i am so grateful for my savior Jesus Christ, the privilege it is that we are able to repent and become better, and for the awesome emails from my friends
and family that lift me up and inspire me each day. i don’t know how y’all know exactly what i need to hear, lies. i do know. because God is working through all of us!! but thank you so much.

We watch the sunset out our window every night!
We watch the sunset out our window every night!

so that was a terrible sum of the week, but there is just too much goodness to share. along with all the things I’ve learned, and the spirit I’ve felt, I’ve laughed a lot too. especially during sports time. every day from 5 to 6 we get to play ultimate frisbee or soccer. it’s the best!! soccer is a bit rough for hermana devereaux, however. haha. or as elder turner says, ¨hermana devereaux always seems to be in the narliest situations.´ can you tell he is from california? but it’s true. i can’t count on 2 hands the amount of times I’ve been hit in the face this week with the soccer ball. its cause I’ve got this serious problem where i think I’m good at soccer, and then remember I’m quite awful. Ill share one story, if you don’t already believe me and my humiliation. we were playing one day, the ball is flying through the air, silly me thinks i can head it, so as i start to jump up i see elder tranthum over here swinging his leg to kick it, boom! kicks me right in the back of the head. haha, I’m alright if you were wondering. nothing a good laugh couldn’t fix. and so that was that bahahha.

Yes, we love to take selfies with our iPads!
Yes, we love to take selfies with our iPads!

also cool, is the ipads we are using!! i don’t think i realized how cool it is until we met with the guy in charge of them at the provo mtc. did y’all know my district is only 1 in 5 of the world that uses them at the mtc? I’m a pioneer y’all, so i thought that was pretty cool.

i hope everything is good on the homefront! i love you all. thanks for your thoughts and prayers.

love,

hermana devereaux

Hermana Brooke Devereaux
Spain Madrid Mission
Calle Fuerteventura 4, 2, Office 8B
28703 San Sebastian de los Reyes
Madrid
Spain

More Pictures!

Here’s several more pictures in the Real Madrid soccer stadium.  (Sorry, they are pictures of pictures since I can’t download them from my camera.):

Missionary pose!
Missionary pose!

IMG_0202

IMG_0193
These seats were soooo comfortable. Mason, maybe one day you’ll get to try one of these seats out!

IMG_0196

IMG_0203

And Uncle Kyle, I expect your soccer fields to look like this!
And Uncle Kyle, I expect your soccer fields to look like this!

And last but not least:

Happy Father's Day, Dad!
Happy Father’s Day, Dad!
Leave a Reply

